News & Events

26 Dec 2018


Fudan Science and Innovation Forum : Mathematician Ingrid Daubechies won the Fudan-Zhongzhi Science Award

?The 3rd Fudan-Zhongzhi Science Award ceremony & the 4th Fudan Science and Innovation Forum (SIF) was held on December 16th in Shanghai, with worldwide top scientists in attendance sharing views on the cutting-edge sci-tech innovation.

By Fudan News Center


Ingrid Daubechies, the winner of the 2018 Fudan-Zhongzhi Science Award and academician of the National Academy of Sciences(NAS), delivered a speech on her report A Few Mathematical Chapters at the ceremony.

The Chairman of the Fudan-Zhongzhi Science Award Committee Ding Zhaozhong, the famous experimental physicist and the winner of the 1976 Nobel Prize in Physics, announced the list of winners and presented the awards.

The history-making Chinese astronaut Yang Liwei and NAS academician and Dirac Prize winner Michele Parrinello delivered speeches respectively on their latest innovative results entitled An Overview of China's Manned Space Engineering and From Computer to Atomic Simulation: Opportunities and Challenges.

FDU president and the academician at Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) Xu Ningsheng and the president of Zhongzhi Enterprise Group Zhang Long attended the forum. The former president of the International Mathematical Union John Ball and the winner of the Fields Medal Vaughan Jones presented certificates of honor and trophies to the winners. FDU vice-president and CAS academician Jin Li hosted the opening ceremony.

The Fudan-Zhongzhi Science Award, co-founded by Fudan University and Zhongzhi Enterprise Group in 2015, recognizes scientists who have made fundamental achievements in the fields of mathematics, physics and biomedicine. The third Fudan-Zhongzhi Science Award was presented to the outstanding scientist in the field of mathematics. The result has been announced this July and the winner of this year enjoyed a monetary prize of 3 million yuan (US$435,000) , along with the honorary certificate and trophy.

Noticeably, the 2016 award winners James P. Allison from the US and Tasuku Honjo from Japan also shared the 2018 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine this October. It was the second time that the award winners have achieved the Nobel Prize after the 2017 award winners Rainer Weiss, Kip Stephen Thorne and Barry Clark Barish jointly received the 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics.

Hosted by FDU, organized by the Higher Academic Research Institute of FDU and sponsored by Zhongzhi Enterprise Group since 2015, SIF aims to offer a platform for communication and exchanges and focuses on the fields of cutting-edge science and technology and the course for innovative growth against the backdrop of globalization, thus implementing the national innovation-driven development strategy and forging Shanghai into a sci-tech hub with global impact. 

The three-day forum consisted of one main forum and four sub-forums, focusing on such fields as computational science, innovation and entrepreneurship, big data, functional and molecular imaging. Over 400 guests from academic circle, business sector and government authority around the world joined the forum.


XML 地图 | Sitemap 地图